Home

The 6th First Feature Film Initiative is now open for application. Deadline is 6:00 pm, 15 August 2019 (Thursday).

Introduction

Create Hong Kong (CreateHK) of the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau first launched the First Feature Film Initiative (FFFI) on a pilot basis in March 2013 to identify new talents through a competition on screenplay and production proposals. FFFI is supported by the Film Development Council (FDC) and funding is made available from the Film Development Fund (FDF) for the winning new directors and their film production teams to make their first feature films1. The scheme is now a regular subsidy scheme to be opened for applications every year.

Aim

The aim of the FFFI is to support new directors and their film production teams to make their first feature films on a commercial basis in order to nurture talents for the film industry.

The 6th First Feature Film Initiative

Main Features

  • FFFI takes the form of a competition. The competition is divided into the Higher Education Institution Group (HEIG) and the Professional Group (PG), each with a maximum of three prizes. The winning teams of the HEIG and the PG will be awarded a maximum of $5 million and $8 million respectively from the FDF to make their first feature films.
  • The winning teams are required to complete the whole film production and sales process, involving planning, shooting and distribution, and acquire in the process practical knowledge in planning and making a feature film.
  • Each participating team is required to submit a screenplay and production proposal which shall contain: logline, synopsis, character description, treatment, full script, detailed production plan (including schedule), names of cast and crew members (attaching letters/ statements of intent from the main cast and main film crew members), production budget and marketing forecast.
  • Each participating team can only participate in the competition of either the HEIG or the PG, and submit only one application.

 

Eligibility for Participation

HEIG & PG

  • Each participating team shall comprise at least a director, a producer and a scriptwriter. The director and the producer shall not be the same person.
  • Each and every director (if more than one director) of a participating team shall not have previously shot2 any commercial film3 with a running time of 80 minutes or longer and shall be a Hong Kong permanent resident aged 18 years or above.
  • Each and every producer (if more than one producer) of a participating team shall be a Hong Kong permanent resident aged 18 years or above.
  • At least one of the scriptwriters of a participating team shall be a Hong Kong permanent resident aged 18 years or above.
  • Apart from the director(s), producer(s) and scriptwriter(s), there shall be at least one Hong Kong permanent resident in each of the following nine positions: leading actor, leading actress, cinematography, action design, art direction, costume design, editing, music scoring/ sound effect and visual effect.

HEIG

  • The director(s) of a participating team in the HEIG shall be a student or graduate of not more than ten years from film/ TV production or similar disciplines of a local or overseas higher education institute or a professional school.
  • The producer of a participating team must have participated in the production of at least two films publicly exhibited in Hong Kong4 in the past 20 years5 in the capacity of a presenter (出品人)/ producer (監製) (not including executive producer (執行監製) and associate producer(副監製))/ director/ director of cinematography/ art director (with at least one occasion as a producer) and shall be a Hong Kong permanent resident aged 18 or above.
  • To ensure that a participating team possesses reasonable knowledge and skills in film production, a participating team shall be screened and nominated by one of the following local higher education institutions/ or institutions under the Vocational Training Council providing film/ TV production or similar programmes. The number of team(s) to be recommended for participating in the competition by the relevant recommending bodies are as follows:
    • The Hong Kong Academy for Performance Arts
    • Hong Kong Baptist University
    • The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
    • City University of Hong Kong
    • The Open University of Hong Kong
    • Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education (Lee Wai Lee)
    • Hong Kong Design Institute
    • The Savannah College of Art and Design (Hong Kong)
    • The Chinese University of Hong Kong
    • Chu Hai College of Higher Education

PG

  • The director(s) of a participating team in the PG shall be a member of the local film industry who possesses filmmaking or related experience; or who has previously won in local major short film competitions or a film industry member who has returned from overseas.
  • The producer(s) of a participating team must have participated in the production of at least two films publicly exhibited in Hong Kong4 in the past 20 years5 in the capacity of a presenter (出品人) or producer (監製) (not including executive producer (執行監製) and associate producer(副監製)) (with at least one occasion as a producer), and shall be a Hong Kong permanent resident aged 18 or above.
  • For the PG, a producer can only take up the post of producer (including co-producer) of one participating team in the same edition.
  • Quota system does not apply to the PG. Participants of the PG may submit their applications to CreateHK direct.

1A feature film is a fictional narrative. It must be a film or digital film suitable for release in commercial cinemas and is not shorter than 80 minutes in running time. Animation films and documentaries are not covered by FFFI.
2“Shall not have previously shot” means not having shot any commercial film as a director, co-director or executive director.
3“Commercial film” means a fictional narrative that has been publicly exhibited at commercial cinemas.
4“publicly exhibited in Hong Kong” means theatrically released in Hong Kong for at least five shows within 30 consecutive days in commercial cinemas on the member list of the Hong Kong Theatres Association.
5Refer to films publicly exhibited in Hong Kong between 16 August 1999 and 15 August 2019.



Tips from Mr. John CHONG, assessment panel member of the Professional Group

Transcript (Chinese only)

Tips from Mr. Felix CHONG, assessment panel member of the Higher Education Institution Group

Transcript (Chinese only)

主頁

簡介

商務及經濟發展局創意香港於2013年3月以試驗性質推出「首部劇情電影計劃」,透過電影創作及製作計劃比賽選拔新秀。計劃獲電影發展局支持,並由電影發展基金撥款資助勝出的新導演及其電影製作團隊拍攝其首部劇情電影(1)。計劃現為恆常資助計劃,每年公開接受報名。

目標

「首部劇情電影計劃」的目標是資助新導演及其電影製作團隊,以商業模式拍攝其首部劇情電影,從而為本地電影業培育人才。

第六屆「首部劇情電影計劃」

主要內容

  • 「首部劇情電影計劃」以比賽形式進行。比賽分大專組及專業組,各設最多三個獎項,大專組及專業組的優勝團隊可分別獲基金資助最多500萬元及800萬元拍攝其首部劇情電影。
  • 優勝團隊須完成電影策劃、製作及發行等整個電影生產及銷售過程,從中學習籌劃製作一部劇情電影的實務知識。
  • 參賽團隊必須提交電影創作及製作計劃書,內容包括:故事摘要(Logline)、故事大綱(Synopsis)、人物小傳(Character Description)、分場(Treatment)、完整電影劇本(Full Script)、詳盡的製作計劃(Production Plan)(包括工作日程)、演員和工作人員人選(附主創人員、主要演員及主要工作人員的意向書)、製作開支預算及市場銷售預測等。
  • 每個參賽團隊只可提交一項申請,不得同時參加大專組和專業組的比賽。

 

參賽資格

大專組及專業組

  • 參賽團隊必須包括最少一名導演、一名監製及一名編劇。導演和監製崗位不可由同一人擔任。
  • 參賽團隊中的每一位導演(如多於一人)均須是從未拍攝(2) 80分鐘或以上的商業電影(3)並年滿18歲的香港永久性居民。
  • 參賽團隊中的每一位監製(如多於一人)均須是年滿18歲的香港永久性居民。
  • 參賽團隊的編劇中必須有最少一位是年滿18歲的香港永久性居民。
  • 除導演、監製及編劇之外,參賽團隊的以下九個工作崗位每個亦必須由最少一名香港永久性居民擔任:男主角、女主角、攝影、動作設計、美術指導、服裝造型、剪接、電影配樂/音效及視覺效果。

大專組

  • 大專組參賽團隊的導演必須是本地或海外專上學院或專科學校電影/電視製作或相類專科的學生或畢業不超過十年的畢業生。
  • 參賽團隊中的監製(可多於一人)必須曾以出品人/監製(不包括執行監製及副監製)/導演/攝影指導/美術指導身份完成最少兩部於過去20年內(4)曾在香港上映(5)的電影(但必須在最少一部電影中擔任監製),並為年滿18歲的香港永久性居民。
  • 為確保參賽團隊有一定的電影製作知識和水平,參賽團隊必須經下列其中一間設有電影/電視製作或相類專科的本地高等教育機構/職業訓練局轄下的專業教育及訓練機構甄選及推薦參加。每間推薦機構的推薦名額如下:
    • 香港演藝學院
    • 香港浸會大學
    • 香港理工大學
    • 香港城市大學
    • 香港公開大學
    • 香港專業教育學院(李惠利)
    • 香港知專設計學院
    • 薩凡納藝術設計(香港)大學
    • 香港中文大學
    • 珠海學院

專業組

  • 專業組參賽團隊的導演必須是具備電影製作或相關經驗的本地電影業人士,或曾在本港主要的電影短片比賽中獲獎的優勝者,或從海外回流的電影從業員。
  • 參賽團隊中的監製(可多於一人)必須曾以出品人或監製(不包括執行監製及副監製)身份完成最少兩部於過去20年內(4)曾在香港上映(5)的電影(但必須在最少一部電影中擔任監製),並為年滿18歲的香港永久性居民。
  • 在同一屆計劃,一名監製(包括聯合監製)只可擔任一個專業組參賽團隊的監製崗位。
  • 專業組競賽項目並無推薦名額的限制,參賽團隊可自行提交申請。

1劇情電影(feature film)是指以故事劇情為主體的電影。電影必須是適合於商營電影院放映的影片或數碼電影,片長不可少於80分鐘,動畫電影和紀錄片不包括在計劃的範圍內。
2「從未拍攝」是指從未以導演、聯合導演或執行導演身份拍攝商業電影。
3「商業電影」是指曾在香港商營電影院上映並以故事劇情為主體的電影。
4指於1999年8月16日至2019年8月15日期間在香港上映的電影。
5「在香港上映」是指於連續30天內在香港戲院商會會員名單上的商業影院放映不少於5場。

(第六屆「首部劇情電影計劃」已截止報名。)

專家貼士

下載文字稿

專業組評審委員莊澄先生的參賽小貼士

下載文字稿

大專組評審委員莊文強先生的參賽小貼士

下載文字稿